Lemon Buttermilk Waldorf Salad with Blueberries

Oh @fatdansdeli how I missed you. Welcome back welcome back welcome back. #eatlocal #smoked

A post shared by Karen Collins (@annumography) on

This weekend my husband and I celebrated the return of Fat Dan’s Deli in their new Indy location with an Italian beef and these slow-smoked wings.  To balance out all that smokey-meaty-goodness, I wanted a fresh, crisp salad.  Once again, I turned to my weekly Green Bean Delivery produce bin for inspiration.

Lemon Buttermilk Waldorf Salad with Blueberries #seekarencook

A post shared by Karen Collins (@annumography) on

I found apples and celery and immediately thought of a Waldorf salad.  No grapes though.  No worries, because I found this great Chopped Waldorf Salad recipe from Deliciously Organic that uses blueberries.  Yum.

Whipping up some Lemon Buttermilk Dressing #seekarencook

A post shared by Karen Collins (@annumography) on

I like my Waldorf Salad a little on the tart side, so a Lemon Buttermilk Dressing like the one from Foodess was perfect for what I had in mind. To keep the dressing light, I substituted Vegenaise and grapeseed oil.  I also used stevia in place of the sugar.

I didn’t have chives, but I did have green onions.  As I grabbed these from the refrigerator, I also impulsively picked up the mint.  With the apples, celery, lemon, and buttermilk, I thought the mint would add a clean, fresh bite to the salad.  Then when I pulled the sliced almonds from the pantry, the shredded coconut also caught my eye.  Why not, I thought?  I adore coconut.  Once I combined all the ingredients and plated the salad on the romaine lettuce, I finished it with some coarsely ground pink Himalayan salt.

70/365 A Waldorf salad with blueberries, green onions, and mint? Yes. And it was delicious. #365project #seekarencook

A post shared by Karen Collins (@annumography) on

I know, I know.  Blueberries with green onions?  And mint?  Yes, trust me.  It tasted like Spring in every bite.  But the coconut?  Meh.  You can skip it if you want.

Lemon Buttermilk Waldorf Salad with Blueberries #seekarencook

A post shared by Karen Collins (@annumography) on

Lemon Buttermilk Waldorf Salad with Blueberries
Ingredients:
1 large Granny Smith apple, diced
3-4 celery ribs, diced
1 cup blueberries
1/4 c. green onion, diced
1 T. fresh mint, minced
1/2 c. sliced almonds
1/4 c. unsweetened, shredded coconut
Lemon Buttermilk Dressing:
1/4 c. lemon juice
2 t. lemon zest, finely grated
1/3 c. grapeseed oil
2 T. vegenaise
1/4 c. buttermilk
sweetener of choice, to taste (I used about a half packet to stevia powder)
1/2 t. salt or to taste

Whisk together ingredients for Lemon Buttermilk Dressing and set aside.  Combine salad ingredients in a large bowl.  Add the Lemon Buttermilk Dressing and stir to coat the salad mixture.  For best results, refrigerate the salad for at least 4-6 hours or overnight.  Serve over chopped romaine lettuce.

Makes 4-6 servings.

Leave a Reply

