Countdown to Cinco de Mayo: Otomi Painted Canvas Shoes

https://www.instagram.com/p/Yygze6uPFe/

You know that I like a good painted tribal print.  So as soon as I saw this Land of Nod Otomi Lamp Shade, I had to figure out a way to get that print in my life.

landofnod-otomi-shade

At first I thought I would hack the lamp shade idea, but I couldn’t find a room in my house where it would work.  Argh!  What to do?  This is, after all, the perfect week to do a Mexican textile/print craft project.

I considered a canvas bag or a t-shirt, but (again) I have plenty of both.  What white-background object did I NEED in my life?  A scarf? No, getting too warm around here for scarf weather.  A pillow?  No.  What?

https://www.instagram.com/p/YyhS2aOPGD/

The answer is always white canvas shoes.  I buy a pair of these before each summer and immediately remove the shoe strings.  At summer’s end, I throw the scruffy things away without guilt.  I immediately headed to the nearest discount store and bought myself a pair.

I don’t have a before shot of my new pristine white shoes, because I was too excited to begin sketching.  I simply printed a picture of my inspiration photo, picked up a pencil, and started drawing.  This print is meant to look hand-drawn, so I tried not to didn’t worry about making a mistake or two…or many.  After all, it would all be covered up with paint in the end.

https://www.instagram.com/p/YyhimbOPGZ/

Next I popped open some acrylic craft paints, grabbed a small artist’s paint brush, and began filling in the blanks.  I painted one color at a time on both shoes, using my picture as a guide, but making changes as needed to evenly distribute the colors across the two shoes.  It was a little bit like paint-by-number.

https://www.instagram.com/p/YyhzDsOPGv/

I’m pleased with the results.  You might notice that both shoes have the same pattern, just shifted slightly so that they are not identical.  I also took some creative license to substitute animals that fit the shape of my shoe better than the original pattern.

https://www.instagram.com/p/YyiE7WOPHM/

My favorite may just be the little marigold bunny on the back of the right shoe.

https://www.instagram.com/p/Yygze6uPFe/

As a final step, I sprayed the shoes with some water-resistant, clear acrylic protectant.  I probably won’t wear these in the rain (or near any body of water), but I want to make sure they last me all summer.  Heck, I might even get fancy with these and add some colorful ribbon laces.  What do you think?

If you are visiting from JAQS Studio: Made By ME #79 Linky Party, WELCOME!   I love comments, visitors, and followers.  You can also find me on TwitterFacebookInstagram, and Pinterest.

13 thoughts on “Countdown to Cinco de Mayo: Otomi Painted Canvas Shoes

  1. Pingback: SeeKarenFollow: This Week | annumography

  2. Teje

    Fantastic idea and you made them beautifully! I need to try this! Sunny wishes from Greece! Teje

    Reply
    1. annumography Post author

      Teje, definitely give them a try; it is truly a fun and easy project. And you get to wear them proudly afterward. Win, win!

  3. Pingback: We Both Need a Fresh Start: 80′s Jewelry Cabinet Rescue & Blogiversary Recap | annumography

Leave a comment